About Stanley House

News Categories

History

The architectural character of Stanley House suggests that it was built for a manorial gentry family in the first half of the 17th Century.

As such it would have been designed to provide that level of hospitality deemed fit or appropriate to such social status in that period.

The published and documentary records indicate that it was the manor house of Mellor until Woodfold Hall was built circa 1799.

The manor of Mellor was in possession of Joseph Yates of Manchester at the time of his death in 1710, but although his will shows that he was a person of substantial means it does not indicate whether he or any other member of his family then lived at Stanley House.

After the purchase of the manor of Mellor by Henry Sudell circa 1788, the status of Stanley House sank to that of a rented farmhouse; and following Sudell’s bankruptcy in 1827 the estate was sold, eventually passing by marriage into the possession of a non-resident owner. By 1877 Stanley House was reported to be in a ruinous condition.

Farming activity continued up to 1999 on a limited basis using the original barns for dairy cattle and with the tenant farmer living in the small part of Stanley House itself which was still watertight.

The land and buildings were then purchased by Leehand Leisure Ltd with ambitious plans for conversion into a prestigious country house hotel with conference and wedding facilities and restaurant.

However, as Stanley House is a Grade II building, classified ‘at risk’ and in greenbelt there were considerable planning issues that had to be overcome. But with the support of the local authority, English Heritage and other local organisations, planning approval was granted in June 2003 and work commenced on a spectacular conversion. 

The hotel opened for business in September 2004 and has since become one of Lancashire’s finest hotels, winning a raft of awards.

In May 2011, we added Grill on the Hill to the Stanley House family. The restaurant has received, as always, plaudits from all over the region.

Stanley House’s committment to improvement never wanes. In 2010, the hotel revamped its Mr Fred’s bar and lounge with a stunning glass extension overlooking the Ribble Valley. This was complemented by a brand new main entrance to the hotel.

In September 2012, the hotel began completed work on the construction of 18 new bedrooms and a luxury spa. These new additions to the estate make Stanley House a true leisure destination.

Stanley House just keeps giving reasons to discover the hotel like no other…